Exploring Romania
Exploring Romania
Exploring Romania

Subscribe to
RSS feed

Where is Transylvania?

and its answer...

It's difficult to explane where is Transylvania. Why? Many history and ethnography specialists argue on this subject. The fact is nobody can define a border line.

So, this is only my opinion about where is Transylvania. Because most people call Transylvania the area on the map marked with different shades of green, I let it so. It's easier to structure this site. And I think it's easier for you to navigate.

Transylvanian counties

In fact Transylvania lies in the middle of Romania, surrounded by mountains. It roughly covers the surface of Salaj, Bistrita-Nasaud, Cluj, Mures, Harghita, Hunedoara, Alba, Sibiu, Brasov and Covasna counties. Why?

Transylvania means "over forests". It is derived from the Latin word "transilvana" where "trans" means over and "silvana" means forest.

The other provinces are:
  • Maramures - Satu Mare and Maramures counties
  • Crisana - Bihor and Arad counties
  • Banat - Timis and Caras-Severin counties.

I think, in ancient times, people built their settlements near rivers. And people around each basin, who were having same customs, merged under the same leader. Customs preserved over times.

So, each area having the same customs formed a province. And it was preserved over centuries, despite the fact that people and history mixed them so differently.

That's why delimitation by county border is far from fine tune. Did I manage to remove at least a part of you your confusion about where is Transylvania? I hope so.

Read more about Where is Moldavia
Read more about Where is Wallachia
Back to Transylvania

Exit "Where is Transylvania?" and return to "Exploring Romania" homepage!

Search this website

Subscribe to RoExplorersZine




Your e-mail address will be used only to send RoExplorersZine.

Currency Convertor



Just choose your needed currency and enter the amount of money

Romanian currency symbol is RON

© exploringromania.com